12D T4 Training / M4 Assessment

At a Glance

Assessment Type:
Training Only
Delivery Method:
1/2 day
Recognised by:
Highways England, Transport Scotland, Welsh Assembly and Transport NI on their rural and urban road networks
Course Prerequisites:

You should have completed the NHSS12DT1/T2 Training course.

To become a registered 12D M4 Operative, the learner must either be in the process of being registered as a 12D M2 Operative or already be a registered 12D M2 Operative prior to applying for registration.

NHSS 12D Convoy Working

The finer details

On completion of this course you will:

  • Be aware of National Highway Sector Schemes
  • Be aware of Health and Safety requirements
  • Be aware of Risk Assessments and Method Statements
  • Be aware of the relevant Codes of Practice and other associated documentation when involved in Traffic Management
  • Identify the equipment required in Temporary Traffic Management
  • Understand the requirements for convoy working
  • Understand how convoy systems operate
  • Be aware of the requirements of non-motorised road users
  • Be prepared to undertake assessments to demonstrate an ability to implement, maintain and remove safely traffic control and convoy systems.
Who should attend?
NHSS12D M4 is for persons wishing to become Registered Traffic Management Convoy Working Operatives as described in the Sector Scheme Document 12D.
What will be covered?

This course will cover:

  • Quality assurance
  • National Highway Sector Schemes
  • Health & safety requirements
  • Risk assessments/method statements
  • Industry guidance documents
  • Working without safety zones
  • Convoy vehicles and equipment
  • Single carriageway convoy systems – single vehicle
  • Single carriageway convoy systems – three vehicles
  • Dual carriageway convoy systems multiple vehicles.
Other areas of interest?

Following completion of the NHSS12D T4 training course the learner will need to undertake a single on site assessment as prescribed in the National Highway Sector Scheme 12D Document to obtain the category.  The assessment must be completed within a two year period starting from the date of passing the training.

Training providers for this course in your area

To find providers in your area