We know that personal learning styles and preferences vary. 

We also know that the wide variety of roles available in the sector demand many different levels and types of training.

To meet these demands, our high-quality training is available in four forms: non-assessed training, assessed training, qualifications and e-learning.  

Non-Assessed (Training Only) 

Non-assessed training does not require you to be assessed in any way.  Simply attend the course and learn new skills and knowledge. At the end you will get a certificate to prove your attendance.

Assessed Training (Training with Assessment) 

Assessed training requires you to attend the course and take an assessment. The assessment could be anything from a classroom-based test to a practical demonstration of what you’ve learned. When you’ve completed your assessment, you’ll be awarded a nationally recognised certificate and/or Skills Card to prove your attendance and your competence.

Customised Provision 

For specialist industry areas, several of our Provider partners develop and deliver their own bespoke training courses, which are accredited by Lantra. These courses are referred to as 'Customised Provision' and can involve either assessed or non-assessed training.

Please note; Customised Provision courses can only be delivered by and booked through the Provider that developed the course.



Qualifications will generally consist of a number of modules relevant to your chosen subject. Once all modules are completed and assessed, you will receive a nationally recognised qualification.

You will generally be able to work through the chosen modules in your own time, building up your knowledge and experience. You will also have the opportunity to learn on the job so you can progress your skills without leaving your job.

Many of our qualifications are on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). If the qualification is funded by the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) you may need to get a Unique Learner Number (ULN) through your course provider to apply for funding.

You can find out more by visiting the Qualification Specifications page.


Scottish Qualifications 

You may wish to undertake a land-based qualification under the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) with Lantra. 

As Scotland's national framework, SCQF qualifications are highly respected by employers.They have 12 levels (level 12 being the most demanding) and credit points indicate how much time it takes to complete a course. Credit Points earned through SCQF qualifications can often to put towards your future leaning.

We offer the following SCQF qualifications: 


Lantra Awards in Chainsaw Maintenance and Cross-Cutting - SCQF Level 5 

Lantra Awards Felling and Processing Trees up to 380mm - SCQF Level 5

Lantra Awards Felling and Processing Trees over 380mm - SCQF Level 5 

Lantra Awards Severing Uprooted or Windblown Trees using a Chainsaw - SCQF Level 7 

Microchip Implantation in Animals:

Lantra Awards Performing Microchip Implantation in Animals - SCQF Level 6 

Click on each course for more details and to find your local approved training provider. 



An integrated approach to training - involving a mix of traditional and more contemporary learning channels - can often be crucial to success.

If you want to study from home at your own pace and in your own time then our e-learning Platform is a flexible, convenient and effective method of learning new skills and knowledge.

So, if you want to grow your skills in farm health and safety or rodent control, litter picking or food hygiene, our e-learning courses are perfect for busy lives. They’ll give you all the latest information and legislation to help boost your skills and progress your career.


Discover our range of training courses and qualifications today